Those bundles work at no extra cost in Tesco's 48 Home From Home destinations across the EU and beyond. Further afield, where Tesco charges up to £5 per MB for data, a HelloRoam travel eSIM covers 185+ destinations.
Quick answer: Tesco pay as you go SIM at a glance

You can buy a Tesco PAYG SIM in a Tesco store or order one free online, and Tesco Mobile posts it by Royal Mail 1st Class. It runs on O2's network. Each bundle covers data, minutes and texts for 30 days, then renews automatically from your balance unless you stop it in the Tesco Mobile app or on 4488, as Tesco's pay as you go page explains.
There's no Clubcard discount on bundles. Link your Clubcard instead and you earn one point for every £1 you top up. The one thing to check upfront is the SIM type. Tesco Mobile does offer eSIMs through its Phone Shops and customer care team, but its pay as you go pages don't say whether Essentials can run on one. If your phone is eSIM-only, ask Tesco before you buy. New to the term? Here's what an eSIM is.
| Feature | Detail |
|---|---|
| SIM cost | Free to order online; £10 minimum top-up to activate |
| Network | O2 (4G reaches 99% of the UK population) |
| Bundle entry price | From £5 for 30 days (500MB) |
| Clubcard | 1 point per £1 topped up (no bundle discount) |
| eSIM support | Not stated for pay as you go |
| Renewal | Automatic every 30 days, unless you stop it |
| Roaming in Europe | No extra cost in 48 Home From Home destinations |
Once the bundle runs out, standard pay-per-use rates kick in automatically. You can't bolt on extra allowance, though you can renew the bundle early.
How does a Tesco pay as you go SIM work?

A Tesco pay as you go SIM is a prepaid mobile plan with no fixed contract. You top up your balance first, and each 30-day bundle of data, minutes and texts is paid for from it. No direct debit is involved.
Tesco Mobile has over 5.5 million UK customers, by its own count. It's a joint venture between Tesco and Virgin Media O2 and runs on O2's network rather than masts of its own. Its 4G reaches 99% of the UK population, and 5G is available in parts of most major towns and cities. Rural signal follows O2's masts, so check your postcode on Tesco Mobile's coverage checker before you buy.
The bundle structure is the bit that catches people out.
While a bundle is active, you draw from a fixed pool of data, minutes, and texts at a predictable rate. The moment that pool empties, your account switches automatically to Tesco's standard pay-per-use rates. Data then costs 10p per MB, far more than any bundle works out at. Underestimate your data use in the final days of a cycle and the actual spend can clear the bundle headline by some margin.
Auto-renewal is on by default. When the 30 days end, Tesco takes the next bundle's cost from your balance. If the balance is too low on renewal day, the bundle pauses until you top up. For occasional users who only want mobile data in certain months, stopping the bundle in the Tesco Mobile app or on 4488 keeps spending in hand.
Top-up methods and expiry rules

Tesco's top-up guide lists three ways to top up: the Tesco Mobile app, a free call to 4488 from your Tesco phone, or a Tesco store, where you can pay by card, cash or voucher. Your first top-up must be at least £10 to activate the SIM. After that, you can add up to £30 at a time, and your balance can hold up to £100.
Essentials has no automatic top-up, so check your balance before renewal day. The Tesco Mobile app shows your allowances and what you've used, though Tesco says a new top-up can take 10 minutes to show in your balance.
Two expiry rules that catch people unaware:
- Unused bundle data doesn't roll over. Any data, minutes, and texts remaining at the end of a monthly bundle period are forfeited. No carry-forward, regardless of how much is left tescomobile.com.
- Unused numbers are disconnected after six months. Make no calls, send no texts and use no data for six months or more, and Tesco disconnects the phone. You may then lose your number and any remaining credit. This hits anyone who picks up a PAYG SIM for a specific trip, uses it briefly, then forgets about it tescomobile.com.
The no-rollover rule covers allowances, not your balance. Leftover gigabytes vanish when the 30 days end, but top-up credit stays until the six-month rule above applies. The one refund route: within 14 days of buying a bundle in the app or on tescomobile.com, you can ask Tesco to refund allowances you haven't used.
Those expiry rules hit occasional users hardest. Anyone who uses the phone every week will never get near the six-month limit.
Tesco pay as you go SIM costs, bundles and Clubcard points

Tesco's Pay as you go Essentials bundles start at £5 for 30 days. Tesco's tariff page listed five bundles in September 2026:
| Bundle price | Data | Minutes and texts |
|---|---|---|
| £5 | 500MB | 500 minutes and texts |
| £10 | 10GB | Unlimited |
| £15 | 25GB | Unlimited |
| £20 | 50GB | Unlimited |
| £30 | 100GB | Unlimited |
There's no Clubcard discount on these prices. Text CLUBCARD to 28578 to link your card, and you earn one point for every £1 you top up. In September 2026, Tesco was also tripling the £15 bundle's data to 75GB for three months for linked Clubcard holders, but only if you claim it when you buy, not later.
The current line-up dates from autumn 2025.
MoneySavingExpert reported on 23 September 2025 that Tesco Mobile was moving all its PAYG users onto Pay as you go Essentials, replacing Lite, Rocket Packs and Triple Credit. Former Lite customers left on standard rates would pay 25p a minute for calls instead of 8p, and 10p a text instead of 4p, while data stayed at 10p per MB. MSE called the new bundles decent value for PAYG, but said one-month rolling SIMs easily beat them.
Standard rates are the second cost risk. Once a bundle empties mid-cycle, usage doesn't stop: Tesco's out-of-bundle rates of 25p a minute, 10p a text and 10p per MB take over. At 10p per MB, 1GB costs about £100, against £10 for the whole 10GB bundle. On the £10 bundle, renewing early is the cheaper fix once you need more than 100MB, and it starts a fresh 30 days.
Here's how the plan structures compare:
| Plan type | Contract commitment | Data rollover | Clubcard perk | How you pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tesco PAYG bundle | None; renews every 30 days unless stopped | No | 1 point per £1 topped up | From your top-up balance |
| Tesco SIM only contract | 12 or 24 months, then rolling monthly | Not stated | Check Tesco Mobile site | Monthly payment |
| PAYG standard rates (no bundle active) | None | N/A | 1 point per £1 topped up | From your top-up balance |
No contract is PAYG's clearest strength. It's the more serviceable choice for infrequent users and anyone who wants zero financial commitment. Heavier users should compare it with one-month rolling SIMs, which also avoid a long tie-in. Clubcard points add a little for Tesco loyalists, but they won't close a big price gap. The format isn't broken; the competition around it is just sharper.
How do you activate a Tesco pay as you go SIM card?

You activate a Tesco pay as you go SIM by putting it in your phone and making a standard call, sending a standard text or using data. Have a payment method ready, because the first activation needs a £10 minimum top-up.
Step 1: Top up and choose a bundle. Top up at least £10 in a Tesco store, in the Tesco Mobile app or with a voucher on 4488, then add a bundle in the app or on 4488. If you ordered the SIM online, it may arrive with your first bundle already added.
Step 2: Turn on 4G Calling. Tesco says Essentials needs a 4G or 5G phone with 4G Calling (VoLTE) switched on. Its 3G network is now off, and without 4G Calling you won't be able to use mobile data. The setting's name and place vary by phone, and Tesco's online phone checker gives the steps for your model.
Step 3: Make a call, send a text or use data. That first use activates the SIM. If you bought it online rather than in a store, your first bundle should start at the same time.
Step 4: Transfer your existing number if needed. Before you switch, text PAC to 65075 from your old SIM. The code arrives within 60 seconds and lasts 30 days. If you joined online, text PORT to 23424 from your new Tesco SIM when it arrives. Tesco texts your transfer date within 24 hours, and your phone loses service on that day, possibly until 6pm. Tesco's switching guide says a transfer can take up to 5 days.
Step 5: Download the Tesco Mobile app. Search for Tesco Mobile on the App Store or Google Play, or text APP to 28901. The app lets you check allowances and usage, top up, change or stop your bundle and manage auto-renewal. To sign up, you need an email address that isn't already linked to a Tesco Mobile account.
Worth knowing: a SIM without a bundle still works. Calls, texts and data then come off your balance at standard rates, so add a bundle before you lean on mobile data.
Taking your Tesco pay as you go SIM abroad

Tesco pay as you go includes roaming across most of Europe at no extra cost. With Home From Home, you use your UK data, minutes and texts in 48 destinations across the EU and beyond, including Norway, Switzerland, Iceland, Jersey, Guernsey and the Isle of Man.
Since Brexit, surcharge-free roaming in the EU is no longer guaranteed for UK customers, as GOV.UK's roaming guidance explains, so each network sets its own terms. Tesco has kept EU roaming inside its bundles, but a fair usage policy applies. Spend more time, or use more of your allowance, in Home From Home destinations than in the UK, and Tesco can add a surcharge after texting you first.
Outside Home From Home, the picture splits in two. Under Tesco's pay as you go roaming rates, data costs 1p per MB in the USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa, though calls home and incoming calls there cost 89p a minute. Turkey costs £5 per MB, and so do Thailand, Japan, the UAE and Egypt, where incoming calls cost £1.49 a minute.
You don't have to pay those rates. Tesco's own advice is to turn data roaming off before you leave and use free Wi-Fi. If your phone supports dual SIM, you can also keep the Tesco SIM in for your UK number and add a travel eSIM for data.
A weekend in Paris? Your Tesco bundle already covers it, at no extra cost. Two weeks in Japan or a circuit through Thailand on Tesco pay as you go rates? At £5 per MB, just 100MB of maps and messages would cost £500, so look at Wi-Fi or Japan eSIM plans before you fly.
When a travel eSIM is worth considering instead

A no-contract holiday eSIM is a digital SIM you add to your phone before departure, with no physical card to swap. It matters most outside Home From Home, where Tesco pay as you go data can cost up to £5 per MB.
Install it at home before you fly, while you're on Wi-Fi. When you land, set it as your mobile data line.
HelloRoam's travel eSIMs connect to 212+ networks worldwide. The practical advantage for Tesco PAYG users is dual SIM. Apple's Dual SIM guide says an iPhone XS or later can run a physical SIM and an eSIM together, so the eSIM handles data abroad while the Tesco SIM stays in on your UK number. Our guide to eSIMs on iPhone covers the setup. Calls and texts to your UK number still reach you, but Tesco charges for incoming calls outside Home From Home, from 69p to £1.49 a minute.
Swap the Tesco SIM out for a local one instead and your UK number goes quiet until you put it back. Bank texts sent to it won't arrive in the meantime. Keeping both lines active avoids that.
Counter-recommendation: a trip inside Home From Home, such as a week in Spain, doesn't need a separate eSIM, because your Tesco bundle already works there. Two weeks across Turkey, Thailand or Japan? The case for a dedicated travel data plan is clear.
Which pay as you go SIM is best?

The right PAYG SIM depends on three things: monthly data use, where you travel, and how much Clubcard points are worth to you.
Light domestic users already inside the Tesco ecosystem have a reasonable case for staying. The O2 network delivers decent 4G coverage and expanding 5G availability in cities. Auto-renewal keeps the admin low, and every £1 you top up earns a Clubcard point. If your trips stay inside Home From Home, Tesco PAYG does the job without friction.
The case weakens for heavier users. If you buy a bundle every month, MoneySavingExpert's advice is that a one-month rolling SIM could save you money. Check whether a rolling deal includes EU roaming before you switch, since Tesco's bundles already do.
For frequent travellers, the calculation depends on where you go. Home From Home covers most of Europe at no extra cost, and data in the USA and Canada costs 1p per MB. Elsewhere, Tesco data can cost up to £5 per MB, so a travel eSIM for those trips is the cheaper way to stay online.
The question to ask before committing: are Clubcard points and included EU roaming worth more to you than a cheaper rolling deal? For light users who travel in Europe, they can be. For regular bundle buyers, MSE's 2025 figures point the other way.
Are pay as you go SIM cards being phased out?

No. Tesco Mobile still sells pay as you go SIMs, and so does O2, whose network it uses. The concern is understandable, but the reality is quieter: Tesco isn't scrapping PAYG, it has repriced it.
The distinction matters. Phasing out would mean removal. What happened at Tesco was a tariff change. Its pay as you go changes page says Rocket Packs, Triple Credit and Lite were replaced by Pay as you go Essentials, with all customers due to move across by the end of 2025. At the same time, calls and texts outside a bundle got dearer than on the old Lite plan.
PAYG still makes sense for the right use case.
PAYG suits someone who wants a backup SIM, a secondary number for occasional calls, or a topped-up phone for a relative who rarely uses mobile data. The low commitment is the feature. No direct debit, no contract to cancel, no upgrade cycle to track. Just use the SIM now and then, because Tesco disconnects phones left unused for six months or more.
Where PAYG falls short is heavy data use and long-haul travel. Standard rates of 10p per MB add up fast when a bundle runs out, and data outside Home From Home can cost up to £5 per MB. For heavy UK data use, price up a one-month rolling SIM before you renew. For long-haul trips, a travel eSIM keeps data costs down.
PAYG isn't dying. It's repositioning toward the margins, which is exactly where some users genuinely need it.
Reviewed by HelloRoam's editorial team.
Questions travellers ask
Can you buy a pay as you go SIM from Tesco?
Yes. You can buy a Tesco Mobile pay as you go SIM in a Tesco store or order one free online, and Tesco posts it by Royal Mail 1st Class. You need to top up at least £10 to activate it, and bundles start at £5 for 30 days.
Which pay as you go SIM is best?
It depends on how you use your phone. Tesco's Essentials suits light users, Clubcard shoppers and trips within its 48 Home From Home destinations. MoneySavingExpert found in 2025 that one-month rolling SIMs easily beat Tesco's bundles, so regular bundle buyers could save by switching.
Are pay as you go SIM cards being phased out?
No. Tesco Mobile still sells pay as you go SIMs. It replaced its older Rocket Packs, Triple Credit and Lite tariffs with Pay as you go Essentials, with all customers due to move by the end of 2025. Calls and texts outside a bundle also got dearer than on the old Lite plan.
Sources
- Pay as you go SIMtescomobile.com
- Pay as you go Essentials.tescomobile.com
- Tesco Pay As You Go Mobile Phone SIM Cardsebay.co.uk
- Shop pay as you go SIM cardstesco.com
- Tesco Mobile PAYG customer? It may push you to buy a ...moneysavingexpert.com
- O2 Pay As You Go Simtesco.com
- Mobile Phones | Pay As You Go and SIM Freetesco.com


Written by
Emily Thornton
Emily Thornton is a travel writer at HelloRoam who covers travel connectivity and eSIM tips for international visitors. She writes about finding reliable data at outdoor events, during weekend city breaks, and on ferry and rail journeys. Emily keeps her tone friendly and jargon-free so any traveler can follow along.


